Saudi Arabia Citizens Banned From Travelling To India, 15 Other Countries Amid Covid Surge

Saudi Arabia has banned its citizens from travelling to sixteen countries, including India, following the re-emergence of Covid-19 and the rapid increase in the number of daily Covid infections over the past few weeks.

According to Gulf News, Lebanon, Syria, Turkey, Iran, Afghanistan, Yemen, Somalia, Ethiopia, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Libya, Indonesia, Vietnam, Armenia, Belarus, and Venezuela are among the sixteen countries that Saudi Arabian residents are prohibited from travelling to.

Furthermore, Saudi Arabia’s Ministry of Health has assured the public that no cases of monkeypox have been identified in the nation. The Kingdom has the capability to monitor and uncover any suspected monkeypox cases, according to Abdullah Asiri, Deputy Minister of Health for Preventive Health.

“Until now, cases of transmission between humans are very limited, and therefore the possibility of any outbreaks occurring from it, even in countries that have detected cases, are very low,” he added.

Meanwhile, the World Health Organization (WHO) has confirmed 80 cases of monkeypox in 11 countries and is seeking to understand better the outbreak’s scope and source.

The WHO stated in a statement on Friday that the virus is prevalent in some animal populations in a number of nations, causing outbreaks among locals and visitors on occasion.