State BJP President Manik Saha Sworn-in As 11th Tripura Chief Minister

On Sunday morning, BJP state president Manik Saha was sworn in as Tripura’s chief minister.Governor SN Arya administered the oath to Saha, a Rajya Sabha MP, at the Raj Bhavan at Agartala.

On Sunday morning, BJP state president Manik Saha was sworn in as Tripura’s chief minister. At the Raj Bhavan here, Governor SN Arya gave the oath to Saha, a Rajya Sabha MP.

Former Chief Minister Biplab Deb, whose unexpected resignation on Saturday evening paved the way for Saha’s appointment, was in attendance, as were BJP MLAs and state ministers. Pratima Bhoumik, the Union minister, was also present at the swearing-in ceremony.

Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Varma and minister Ram Prasad Paul appeared at the Raj Bhavan minutes after the swearing-in ceremony finished, protesting Saha’s appointment as chief minister at the BJP’s legislative party conference on Saturday.

“Will work for the people of Tripura, taking further the development agenda of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Will focus on the law and order situation,” Saha said after the swearing-in ceremony.

“There are no challenges,” he said, when asked about the change of guard in the state months ahead of the assembly elections.

The opposition CPI(M) MLAs boycotted the event, claiming that the BJP’s administration has resulted in “fascist-style violence” in the state.

The Trinamool Congress, which is attempting to gain a foothold in the state, claims that the chief minister was replaced because the BJP realised that the people had lost faith in the state administration.

Before joining the BJP in 2016, Saha, a maxillofacial surgeon who graduated from Lucknow’s King George Medical College, was a member of the opposition Congress.

In 2020, he was elected as the party’s state president. Saha, a renowned badminton player, is also the President of the Tripura Cricket Association.

His importance to the BJP originates from his impeccable reputation and track record, which includes guiding the party to victory in all thirteen municipal elections in November 2021.

According to sources, the move comes after an analysis given by the RSS to the BJP’s national leadership showed that the party and administration needed a change of guard.