Tripura CM Biplab Deb Resigns A Year Ahead of Elections, Replacement to be Announced Today

Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb announced his resignation to Governor SN Arya on Saturday. The unexpected departure comes just months before state elections next year.

After meeting with the governor at the Raj Bhavan, Mr Deb made the news.

“Party wants me to work to strengthen the organisation,” news agency PTI quoted Biplab Deb as saying.

Following accusations of internal fighting inside the BJP’s state unit, the resignation was announced.

According to reports, the BJP legislature party in Tripura will meet later today to nominate a new leader.

Senior BJP leaders Bhupender Yadav and Vinod Tawde have been chosen as observers for the election of the legislature party leader in Tripura.

Aside from them, the meeting will be attended by the party’s state incharge, Vinod Sonkar.

In 2018, Biplab Deb became the state’s first BJP Chief Minister, ending the Communist Party of India’s 25-year reign.